Structural Support

Today, I would very much like to know what you think. You can let me know in the comments.

Last night, exactly as I predicted, I began re-reading my NaNo at 11:59. Right away, I could see that I wanted to make some structural changes. Not to the plot (yet), but to the way the story itself is presented. This is where you and your opinion come in:

One of the changes I’m considering making is to include song lyrics/lines of poetry/literary quotes to break up the sections of the novel (as I mentioned in my entry on the plotting and pacing of this particular work, the novel falls into event-driven sections). Is this something you enjoy when you read a novel, or is it lazy writing? Is it a cheat to set tone? Do you find it disruptive to the narrative? Or does it perhaps enrich your experience?

Tell me, please. Feel free to cite examples of novels where you loved/hated this and why. As with all things, I will eventually make my own decision, but I’d like to know where you stand.

One response to “Structural Support

  1. I always love a good line of poetry or song lyric or what-not. Finding these little treasures as I read gives the story a depth that very much appeals to me.

    However, I think I might be in the minority on this.
    The most recent example that I have read would be ‘Bait and Switch’ by Larry Brooks (of Storyfix) where excerpts from the protagonist’s own book are inserted at the beginnings of chapters. I thought it was great and elevated the story into something more literary.
    I read the reviews of the book though, and some readers found it distracting.
    So there you are, back where you started, making your own decision.

    In any case I don’t think that it would feel like lazy writing, or cheating.

    I like the blog, by the way–Loudmouth to Legit made me chuckle. :)

What say you?

