The Blog With No Name

So NaNoWriMo is over. I won. I wrote a 51k word novel in one month. It is being read and critiqued as I write this. I have no idea what I will do with it once I get the notes, but I do know one thing:

This blog needs a new name.

For better or worse I heaved myself from the figurative armchair and wrote a novel. It was difficult, and slow, and I hung out with a lot of really weird people at the weekly meetings that I would be alarmed to associate with on a regular basis. It was also the first piece of creative fiction I have written since maybe high school. I have always been a reader, but I never aspired to be a writer.

What you can look forward to (and I know you will) in the future of this blog:  A double review of Paolo Bacigalupi’s The Windup Girl, and Shipbreaker. Exploration of some of Stephen King’s advice on writing from my fresh-off-NaNo perspective, reviews of classic Heinlein novels, and a review of the 1971 sci-fi anthology Mind to Mind. Probably a catch-all review of Scott Westerfeld’s oeuvre from Peeps and Uglies to the Leviathan trilogy. I am also open to requests.

3 responses to “The Blog With No Name

  1. You won? Just like that? Tell me more! Congrats. Do you write sci fi? Too many questions for such a celebrity, I know, I know. But could you give me advice on plotline techniques?

    • You are giving me an even bigger head than I already have. Also, I just realized that I can edit your comment which seems like entirely too much power.

      I did win, not quite just like that, it’s much easier to make it sound la-di-dah from the other side. I have yet to write any sci-fi, my NaNo was YA fantasy (late teens to 20’s range). I will make a post with my method for plotting (could be diabolical).

  2. Maybe you deserve a big head. Writing something and getting it published deserves some credit. Yes. I have had people edit my comments before. It’s a little weird if you ask me. You could manipulate what people are saying. Could be libelous.
    I’m prepared for you diabolical scheming, though.

What say you?

