Art is a Tangible Expression of Feeling

Today was quite productive, in a preparatory sense. I bought two books on writing: The Essential Guide to Getting Your Book Published by Arielle Eckstut and David Henry Sterry, and On Writing by Stephen King. I also purchased a beautiful handmade book in which I plan to write my next novel, unlined because it will have a graphic element (the ‘brushes” portion of my blog title refers to the fact that I am a visual artist). Furthermore, I realized that I’ve been remiss.

If you’ve been reading this blog, you don’t know jack about my novel.

Sure, maybe you’ve heard mention of YA fantasy or figured out that my protagonist is female…but that’s not much to go on, is it? I’m looking to scare up a couple of Beta Readers, and if I’m going to do that I will have to drum up some interest from the right kind of readers. I will do so by schizophrenically interviewing myself.

What is it called? The Grove

What is it about? Feelings. Whoa whoa whoa feeeelings. Lots and lots of feelings. Lusty feelings, failure feelings, wanting-to-kill-your-sister feelings, invincible youthful feelings and the fearful feeling that that invincibilty is all an illusion. The feeling that things aren’t what they seem. These feelings are felt by Autumn Kavanagh, a 20-year-old who has done all the things that were asked of her and is trying to cope with the fact that nothing worked out like “they” told her it would.

Are there boys? Yes. Weird ones and hot ones and musically talented ones.

Is there a lurve triangle? No. Haven’t we all had enough?

Well…is there lurve? The reader will have to be the judge of that.

This doesn’t sound very fantastical. That’s not a question. Autumn is coping with her lost direction by only making the choices that are right in front of her. This leads her to fall in with a rather strange crowd who throw wild pagan parties, and are not what they seem. I will tell you now, they are not werewolves or vampires.

Well, what other books is it like? I would guess that if a reader was a fan of Jackson Pearce (Sisters Red, As You Wish) or Heather Dixon (Entwined), they might enoy my book.

What say you, fair reader? Is your whistle whet? Or does this sound dreadfully dull? Later in spring I plan on making a book trailer using some of the Northern California locations that inspired the book, but until then I will leave you with a song that appears in the novel:

“The Water is Wide” – Irish Folk Song

What say you?

