30 Days of Books – Day 12 – A Book You Used to Love but Now Hate

First of all I’d like to apologize to anyone who might be following along with me. In addition to my alpha reader’s hospitalization (she is now over the worst of it and back home), I had family drama and began a new job this weekend.  hope to stay on track for the remainder of the thirty days.

It is worth noting that I am loyal to a fault. That means that when I really love a book, woe unto the person who tries to change my mind. No matter what aspersions you might cast, horrible secrets about the author being a cake-sitting furry who likes to bathe in pudding you might dig up, or morally suspect symbolism you might point out, I will stubbornly continue to love it. Don’t trouble me with the facts, my mind is made up!

However, there is an exception to every rule and mine is probably The Baby-Sitters Club created by Ann M. Martin.

I never thought these books were great literature but there was definitely a period in elementary school where I checked out huge stacks of them from the library, devouring them one after another, trading copies of the few I owned with friends who had volumes not yet consumed. The stories were simplistic and often bizarre, a group of 13-year-old girls with boyfriends allowed to hold massive events like day-camps and schoolwide slumber parties for kids only one or two years younger than they were with nary a parent in sight. Still, I was rushing off to the B. Dalton to plunk down a month’s allowance for the latest Super Special (which I would read in a day) while my brother pumped quarters into the vast array of racing games in the mall arcade.

The books have not aged well, late-eighties/early-nineties children’s sensibilities  seem to have little in common with those of the current era. While I appreciated Claudia’s artistic ability, Kristy’s ambition, and Dawn’s laid-back style (being California Casual myself) all my nieces want to read about are  pretty girls who lie a lot and humiliate (or kill) people while wearing designer duds. Not too long ago I heard about an effort to update and re-release the BSC books, but I’m pretty sure that ship has sailed as it should have, making way for a brave new world of iPhone apps and internet celebrities.

What say you?

