30 Days of Books – Day 23 – A Book You’ve Wanted to Read for a Long Time but Still Haven’t

Whooo that’s a long title for what is sure to be a very brief entry. Not a lot one can say about a book one hasn’t read, eh?

In my queue since high school (trust me, it’s been long enough for that to be notable):

The Grapes of Wrath, John Steinbeck

A Tale of Two Cities, Charles Dickens

Lolita, Vladimir Nabokov (this is entirely due to The Police’s hit “Don’t Stand So Close to Me”)

The Stranger, Albert Camus

Since early college I’ve had a policy of trying to alternate reading books that are “good for me” with ones that are purely fun to read, balancing the All-Bran with the Lucky Charms of literature. This began at Barnes and Noble with their candy-colored copies of the classics in paperback. So far these four haven’t popped up at a price point under ten-dollars, and I can be a real skinflint when it comes to books I’ve never read.

I do have a copy of The Grapes of Wrath, procured at the local used bookseller, just waiting for me to finish the two Whartons I picked up along with it (and probably the two books on Celtic ritual I bought for researching my novel).

What say you?

