Top Ten Tuesdays – Books I’d Like to Give a Theme Song

For the past few Tuesdays I’ve been reading top ten lists over on The Librarian Who Doesn’t Say Shhh, on topics put forth by The Broke and the Bookish, and this week I like the theme so much I just had to join in.

Presenting the top ten books I’d give a theme song.

1. The Custom of the Country by Edith Wharton – Jill Sobule “Supermodel”


The lyrics of this song really get at the core of Undine Spragg’s character: shallow, striving, delusional. I see it as Sofia Coppola/Marie Antoinette style combination. Bustles and Louboutins, formal balls and fashion shows.

2. The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater – Florence + The Machine “What the Water Gave Me”


There is a very literal link between the lyrics of the song and the content of the book, but there is also a moody wildness to the sound that suits the tone of the novel. Windy cliffs and slate-dark seas.

3.  Uglies/Pretties/Specials by Scott Westerfeld – Nine Inch Nails “The Hand That Feeds”

Would make an excellent hoverboarding song, and is up to the Specials’s level of physical scariness.

4. Feed by M.T. Anderson – Nada Surf “Popular”

I imagine this playing during one of the parties, as people are dancing with the draggy elbows and twitching in fugue on the floor. It has that sort of lethargic malaise (is that redundant?) Titus becomes aware of the longer he is with Violet.

5. Strange Attractors by William Sleator – Broken Social Scene “Two Girls”

Warning: this song is kiiiinda dirty.
Eve basically is two girls, and Max digs it.

6. White Oleander by Janet Fitch – “Wonderwall” written by Oasis, as performed by Ryan Adams

Astrid keeps hoping for rescue, though she knows deep down it isn’t coming.

7. Summer by Edith Wharton – Toad the Wet Sprocket “All I Want”

Oh Charity Royall, “and it won’t matter now, whatever happens to me. Though the air speaks of all we’ll never be, it won’t trouble me.”

8. Carrie by Stephen King – My Chemical Romance “Teenagers”

They could care less, as long as someone will bleed!

9. Paint it Black by Janet Fitch – Yeasayer “Madder Red”

Warning: This video is probably too weird for a lot of people.
I imagine this as Michael’s respone to Josie’s searching.

10. Evil Genius by Catherine Jinks – Comsat Angels “Falling”

Poor Cadel, all science and no philosophy.

2 responses to “Top Ten Tuesdays – Books I’d Like to Give a Theme Song

  1. yay! You totally did do TTT! I love it. Love the songs and the books…though, admittedly, there were are lot that I don’t know. It was fun watching the videos for them and picking up some new tunes.

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesdays: You Don’t Know My Blog « Ink

What say you?

