Everything! Must! Go!

First and foremost, Happy World Book Day! Better than Christmas, I tell ya. I hope that you will use today as an excuse to buy a book you have been coveting from afar. I’m planning on going after my hardbound copy of To Kill A Mockingbird at last…

Now to get down to brass tacks (I never met an idiom I didn’t like and I have no intention of ever apologizing for it), at one point this blog occasionally talked about writing. Specifically, my NaNoWriMo and what I was doing to prepare it for publication. Sometime during my efforts to write the perfect pitch I realized that I couldn’t because, in it’s current state, my novel is at least three different stories. All the energy I was pouring into pitching was suddenly diverted into my mental editing process.

First breakthrough: I discovered what my book is actually about.

Second: I found an Oscar Wilde quote while perusing another writer’s blog which became my guide.

“We are all in the gutter, but some of us are looking at the stars.”

My book needs more gutter and more stars to convey the feeling I really want it to have.

Third: I killed my darlings. I have decided to slash two scenes entirely, incorporating some of their function into others and letting whatever else is in them free to clutter another story. Everything else is getting heavy rewrites to bring it in line with the core of the story. Which brings me to:

NaNoEdMo

Companion to National Novel Writer’s Month, NaNoEdMo begins today and challenges writers to spend fifty hours in the month of March editing a novel. I’m gonna do it! Then, when my novel is as polished and pretty as I can make it on (mostly) my own, I’m going to let a WHOLE BUNCH OF PEOPLE read it.

My challenge to myself: April 1st, Grove goes out to beta readers.

Let me know in the comments if you’d like to be one.

2 responses to “Everything! Must! Go!

  1. ‘Some of us are looking at the stars.’ is engraved in my iPod–which is probably my single most important writing tool besides my pen. I need music to write…
    Good luck with NaNoEdMo! I’m doing it too, and so will be soldiering through this right along with you.
    I’d love to have a look at Grove when you’re finished! If your posts are any indication of your writing skill, I’m sure it will be awesome.

What say you?

