30 Days of Books – Day 27 – The Most Surprising Plot Twist or Ending

The kinds of novels I read aren’t really given to plot twists or surprise endings, and non-fiction certainly isn’t.

The only book I could think of for this one was Mockingjay. I don’t know if it was completely surprising but it was like “Damn, Suzanne Collins. You went there.” It actually felt like how things had to end for Katniss, honestly, but so many authors would have tried to soften it. Pulled up at the last moment. I was surprised that she so unapologetically wrote what needed to be written.

I am deathly terrified to spoil anything for those who have yet to finish the series, but for those who have read it I will clarify to what “twist” I am referring. The entire segment of the novel from sewer lizards to Coin’s speech.

A lot of people found this book a disappointing conclusion to the series, and I have to say I don’t get that. I found it completely fitting. My only guess is that they hoped for a happy ending, or thought Katniss was strong in a way that she wasn’t and were disappointed to find she was only human (and a very damaged one at that). The third Hunger Games novel was heartbreaking, but it was never a fairy tale to begin with.

4 responses to “30 Days of Books – Day 27 – The Most Surprising Plot Twist or Ending

  1. Yes I agree that it was an inevitable ending given that these children were so damaged. I was disappointed by it, nonetheless. Possible is springs from being a ‘romantic’. Good post.

  2. Thanks. The ending made me terribly sad (for everyone who made it), but not disappointed. I admire romantics, which is why I Iiked Peeta so much. Enough terrible things have happened in my life that I expect terribleness as the rule rather than the exception, but I think it takes a lot of strength and goodness to perpetually hope for love and happiness and good.

  3. definitely going to read this book now 🙂 thank you for enlightening me about the possible disappointment though. and i love romantics, there should be more in real life i think 🙂
    hope you are smiling
    also read-
    the paris wife
    the hand that first held mine
    the help
    the sisters brothers
    the somnambulist 🙂

What say you?

