Take a Look, I Picked Ten Books

Time for another Top Ten Tuesday, folks! That fancy-pants meme spawned by The Broke and the Bookish continues to ensure that I will post at least once a week. What do I have for you this time around?

The Top Ten Books on My Spring to-be-Read List

Scored

1. Scored by Lauren McLaughlin

More YA dystopia! Yummy.

The Grapes of Wrath

2. The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck

Sitting on my nightstand waiting for me to finish my latest Edith Wharton. I’ve been meaning to read it since high school and finally picked up a copy at the used bookstore.

Crossed

3. Crossed by Ally Condy

Looking forward to giving this series a second chance.

The Night Circus

4. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

This one piqued my interest during NaNoWriMo last Fall when the author wrote a great pep-talk for the participants.

Divergent

5. Divergent by Veronica Roth

This book wasn’t even on my radar, but it seems to be on everyone else’s. It’s been popping up on all the book blogs I read and I’ve been convinced to give it a try.

The Wind Through the Keyhole

6. The Wind Through the Keyhole by Stephen King

Very excited for the April release of this novel, though I was never able to get into The Dark Tower series.

An Abundance of Katherines

7. An Abundance of Katherines by John Green

I read about this on another book blog recently (sadly I don’t remember which), and it rapidly shot to the top of my to-read list. Once upon a time I studied mechanical engineering, I adore calculus, and I come from a family that tries to navigate relationships using Game Theory. This book is absolutely up my alley.

The Forest of Hands and Teeth

8. The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan

Zombies have always been my monster movie matinee favorite, and I’ve heard only great things about this book.

What’s on your list?

9. H.P. Lovecraft the Complete Fiction

A gift from my father shortly before Christmas. I have never read Lovecraft before, so I don’t know what to expect beyond Cthulu.

10. Uglies: Shay’s Story by Scott Westerfeld, Devin Grayson. Illustration by Steven Cummings.

This is a graphic novel handling the story of Uglies from another perspective, that of Tally’s friend Shay. A lot of people seem to hate Shay or think she is whiny or unreasonable, but I have always had a lot of sympathy for her, she’s the casualty of a lot of Tally’s mistakes and lucky breaks.

5 responses to “Take a Look, I Picked Ten Books

  1. Most of these books I have read or are on my list as well ๐Ÿ™‚ The Night Circus was lovely and beautifully written, I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on it! I also tried to give the Matched trilogy a shot.. I could barely get through the first book though.

  2. I had forgotten about Night Circus, thanks for the reminder!
    On my list right now are ‘Pearl Buck in China’ (by Hilary Spurling– I started it, but keep getting interrupted), finish the Hunger Games trilogy (why didn’t anyone tell me these were so good!?) and next week I am anxiously awaiting the release of ‘The Alchemist of Souls’ by Anne Lyle (debut author, one of my classmates at HTYRN, great writer and nice person as well.)

    I tried clicking the titles, but no links… ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Oh well, I’ll use Amazon. Great list. Keep us posted on what you liked!

What say you?

