The Write Stuff

“It’s strange to explain off camera what you have done in this or that scene. How redundant, like an artist explaining his painting. As much as I like watching movies I’ve been in, I can’t watch myself in interviews. People shouldn’t know how we do it.”

   – Ewan McGregor

Things have been a bit scattered for me lately. I finished reading a few books that I found utterly fine, but I haven’t reviewed them yet because I don’t have too much to say. Words pour forth on a novel I love or loathe, but reliving one that was serviceable at best just doesn’t light my fire. If you’re curious, the books were The Glimpses of the Moon by Edith Wharton and An Abundance of Katherines by John Green. Let me know in the comments if you are really dying for a review of either and I will get it together.

On the fine arts front, I have opened an Etsy shop in hopes of selling some of my prints. I have a jar in which I have been saving dollars to buy my own press, and I’d like to put some more in that jar. Without a press it’s pretty tough to continue working in my preferred medium. Right now I am 3/4 of the way through a year-long collage project and I expect to finish (or at least start the assembly) this evening. If anyone would like to see pictures I can post them over the weekend.

There’s not too much in my Etsy shop so far but it’s here if you’d like to have a look.

Down to writing. My manuscript has been sitting basically untouched since I was sick, but I have been slashing huge sections and making substantial alterations in my mind. I think it’s time to commit them to pixels. I also owe my alpha reader/crit partner some feedback on a couple pieces fiction she sent over. What’s more, my subconscious is chug chug chugging along generating the story of what happens after the end of my (unedited) manuscript. So here’s the plan:

1. Finish my collage

2. Finish the critique and send it off

3. Spend next week hardcore editing my manuscript

4. Get the manuscript out to some fresh-eyed beta readers by the end of May

5. Use Camp NaNoWriMo to motivate myself to write the sequel

Today I overhauled my Grove playlist to get myself into the new vibe necessary for my edits, here are a few of the songs I added:

4 responses to “The Write Stuff

  1. It’s interesting to see what you’re up to these days. Good luck with those changes! It should be fun for you to see the story come together. 🙂

What say you?

