Top Ten Tuesdays: Top Ten OCD Bookish Habits

For round two of catch-up, we have last week’s Top Ten Tuesdays topic.

Top Ten OCD Bookish Habits

1. I can’t read a hardcover with the dust jacket on. Every time it slips and gets a ding a fairy loses its wings. Very distracting.

2. I rarely ever read sitting up. I have a hard time focusing on my reading when I am sitting in a chair, for whatever reason. I prefer to read lying down: in bed, on a couch, on the floor, in the grass, what have you. In a pinch I will turn sideways and toss my legs over the armrest.

3. Books have to be in series order on my bookshelves. If I have multiple copies of a book, they are shelved in order of condition (from my “good copy” to my “loaner” copy). I actually had enough copies of Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (it was released on my birthday), to grade my loaner copies for the trustworthiness of the lendee. My sister got the second-string loaner copy and what did she do? Dropped it down a flight of stairs.

4. When deciding if I should buy a new book, I read the back cover/front flap blurb and the first page. If the blurb gives away too much, I won’t buy it. Mostly I rely on that first page, for the writing style to grab me. I like to discover all of the events of a book as they unfold, so back-cover spoilers really turn me off. Books with nothing but author blurbs and review pull-quotes automatically start off at a disadvantage in my mind. Give me an impression, don’t tell me the whole story or how it’s a “tour de force“.

5. If a book is being made into a movie (that I want to see), I have to read the book before the film is released. Even if that only gives me two days to read it. This led to tremendous disappointment with The Golden Compass since I loved the movie and the whole series, but they never made a sequel.

6. If a sequel to a film based on a book series is being released, I have to go back and re-read the series up to that book. Example: for the Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix film, I re-read books 1-5. Luckily it takes a long time to make a movie, and I am a fast reader.

7. I will give away a book I didn’t like in a heartbeat, but if I enjoyed it I will expect it to be returned. Not very generous of me. This does not apply to the giveaway of The Selection by Kiera Cass that I did on this blog a couple of months ago, I bought that with the intention of giving it away…it just would have been harder to part with if I’d liked it.

8. If I am tempted to mock a book series, I make sure to read it first. This is how I ended up reading Twilight. Mocking without reading just seems hypocritical.

9. I never rest books open, face down. It just bugs me when the covers on my paperbacks start curling up, and don’t get me started on hardbacks where the bookblock is separating from the spine.

10. I never dog-ear. I have a good enough memory that I can usually remember a page number, or the general vicinity of where I was at. Putting dog-ears in my own book is the worst kind of vandalism!

2 responses to “Top Ten Tuesdays: Top Ten OCD Bookish Habits

  1. It always amazes me when reviewers go off on books they haven’t even read! Even if the book is a dismal disaster, I expect them to read every single word of it before they do the report on it.
    So, thanks for reading Twilight. Your review was spot on and hilarious, and I’m sure it was because you actually read it.

    Anyway, I will only tell you about one of my OCD bookish habits, which is that once I finish a book that I really love, I immediately feel compelled to lend it out or give it away. I don’t know why I do this. Maybe it’s because I want to talk about the book with someone else who has read it, or maybe it’s because I simply want to share something so wonderful.
    I think this might be tied to the reason I write–I have something to say that I need to share, and I want it to be wonderful.
    I’m still working on the ‘wonderful’ part. 😉

What say you?

