Top Ten Tuesdays: Books I’ve Read Since the Birth of the Blog

Today’s topic is slightly arbitrary, and may be difficult because I haven’t even been blogging for a year yet. I will link to reviews where I can, and as always thanks to the ladies of The Broke and the Bookish for starting this meme and keeping it going!

Top Ten Books I’ve Read Since I Started This Blog

1. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

Loved this tear-fest. Oh Augustus and Hazel Grace. My review is here.

2. Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler

Once I have dollars, I fully intend to purchase a copy of this witty and beautiful book. My review is here.

3. Duma Key by Stephen King

I finished this one just before I left for South Dakota (it was on my summer reading list), and the half-finished review has been sitting in my drafts for quite awhile now. I keep tinkering with it but I really enjoyed this one and I want to do it justice.

4. Audrey, Wait! by Robin Benway

Cute and fun, a total blast to read. My review is here.

5. Divergent by Veronica Roth

I actually told friends that it was better than The Hunger Games and I stand by that assessment (though I was not quite so impressed with Insurgent). Review here.

6. The Illusion of Life: Disney Animation by Frank Thomas and Ollie Johnston

Last Fall I was studying animation, and working on my own animated short. I requested this book for Christmas and read it from cover-to-cover. It’s a beautiful read in terms of art, nostalgia, and a deep and abiding respect for the singular genius of Walt Disney.

7. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

I re-read it just before the movie came out. That counts, right?

8. On Writing by Stephen King

An illuminating peek into the workings of one writer’s mind. Many passages from this half-memoir/half style-guide have stuck with me. My thoughts here.

9. Who am I Without Him?: A Short Story Collection About Girls and Boys in Their Lives by Sharon G. Flake

I walked to the library one day, plucked this from the shelf, and read it in one sitting. I am considering buying copies for my niece and sister-in-law.

10. The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater

This one just barely made the cut, time-wise, but it was my favorite book of 2011! If this list were in order it would be number one. I never gave it a proper review, but I did write a little here.

7 responses to “Top Ten Tuesdays: Books I’ve Read Since the Birth of the Blog

  1. I’m looking forward to reading your review of ‘Duma Key’! And I’m moving ‘The Scorpio Races’ higher up on my to-read list. 🙂 Thanks for a great list!

  2. I’m listening to Why We Broke Up now on audio – and gotta say I’m not loving it, but it is beautifully done. I loved Divergent, The Hunger Games & The Scorpio Races. I’ll have to check out a few more from your list.

    • Well it’s a shame you got it on audio, because half of the appeal of Why We Broke Up (more than half, possibly) are the plentiful illustrations! Seeing the stuff that Min is sifting through as she recounts each memory. They really add weight to a narrative that can come off as a little too flippant at times. I’d say don’t even finish it on audio, run over to the library and check out the book. Let me know if you try any of the others on my list, I’d love to hear what you think!

What say you?

