Top Ten Tuesdays: Fall Reading

Technically I wrote this yesterday, but I wanted to link it up all pretty before posting. Looks like that’s not gonna happen. It still counts!

I’m still plowing through the books on my Summer list, but Fall is less than three weeks away! The ladies at The Broke and the Bookish tell me it’s time for a Fall TBR list, so here goes:

1 & 2. Radiant Shadows and Darkest Mercy, Wicked Lovely series, by Melissa Marr. Time to finish this series once and for all.

3. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins. Lola and the Boy Next Door was too cute for me not to give this one a try, too!

4. Ariel by Sylvia Plath. I read The Bell Jar awhile back, and I’ve been wanting to read Ariel since I heard that Matthew Weiner had January Jones read it to inform her performance of Betty Draper during Season 2 of Mad Men. I am one of the few viewers with a lot of sympathy for Betty, and I think January Jones portrays her with a great deal of nuance.

5. Pie It Forward: Pies, Tarts, Tortes, Galettes, and Other Pastries Reinvented by Gesine Bullock-Prado. If I were a steadier sort of gal, I’d love to be a pastry chef. Making beautiful and delicious treats for people to savor every day. Her first cookbook, Sugar Baby, was a hilarious read and beautifully designed. The recipes are aces.

6. A History of Civilizations by Fernand Braudel. It’s been sitting neglected on my bookshelf in favor of fiction too long. Fall is a good time for thinking books.

7. The Windup Girl by Paolo Bacigalupi. I’m going to give it one more try. I was really enjoying it up until the very graphic public-rape scene, and I just couldn’t pick it back up again. A shame, because the science-fiction/dystopia aspect with mutated crops and the Asian sociology aspect were really interesting up until that point.

8. The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater. This was on my Summer list, but it doesn’t even come out for two more weeks!

9. The Curiosities: A Collection of Stories by Tessa Gratton, Brenna Yovanoff, and Maggie Stiefvater. I enjoyed these authors short stories as The Merry Sisters of Fate, and I kinda miss them now that they are all big, important, published YA authors.

10. The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman. Seems like a good, autumnal read.

What say you?

