Top Ten Tuesdays: Desert Island Necessities

Nothing fancy this week, folks! I’ve got an early job subbing high school Biology tomorrow and I need to hit my word count for NaNoWriMo before bedtime. I won’t be linking but maybe I’ll throw in a picture or two. This weeks theme:

Top Ten Books I Would Want on a Desert Island

1. SAS Survival Guide 2nd Edition: for any climate, in any situation
A desert island doesn’t necessarily mean tropical, after all. Hopefully this handy guide, written by a former member of the British Special Air Service who went on to become a survival instructor, would keep me alive long enough to enjoy everything else on my list.

2. War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy
Because it’s super long and I haven’t read it, but also because as a former student of French language and culture I am fascinated by Russia’s attempts to imitate French culture during a period in which France was quite literally attacking Russia. Why do people do these things? I imagine it would be good mood reading for stormy days on the island.

3. The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas
Another long one. I’ve seen the Gerard Depardieu miniseries (well worth watching, it is to TCMC what the Firth miniseries is to Pride and Prejudice), but have not read the novel. I’d take it in French, because I would obviously have the time to work my way through.

4. The Iliad and The Odyssey by Homer
I’ve read The Odyssey a few times, but I haven’t gotten to The Iliad yet (much less The Aeneid). Not only is it another long one, it seems appropriate for a desert island of the tropical variety.

5. Les Miserables by Victor Hugo
Actually tried to check this out of the library today, it’s been on my list for ages, but all the copies were gone. Probably because of the movies. Nothing like the suffering of others to make one feel fortunate, and the suffering of society’s maltreated might make one feel better about being a castaway. Like the Dumas, I’d take it in French.

6. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
It’s my favorite, and I can read it over and over and love it just as much every time. Some might bring the bible for spiritual comfort, I’d bring Harper Lee.

7. The Best of Roald Dahl 
Honestly, if I read too many French and Russian novels I’d surely get depressed and off myself. Better bring some Dahl for a laugh now and then.

8. The Curiosities: A Collection of  Stories by Maggie Stiefvater, Tessa Gratton, and Brenna Yovanoff
Short stories are convenient when one wants a little fiction break between catching fish and building a lean-to.

9. Ender’s War (Ender’s Saga 1 & 2) by Orson Scott Card

I just read (and loved to pieces) Ender’s Game, so I’d like to have it for re-reads and continue with the series. After a long day facing the harsh realities of survival, what could be more escapist than space?

10. Boatbuilding: A Complete Handbook of Wooden Boat Construction by Howard Irving Chapelle and Jonathan Wilson
Eventually I would want to make my escape.

 

Look at that, I got all fancy after all. Art historical even. Do you agree with my list? Disagree? Think I’m a pretentious twit? Tell me how it oughta be done on the comments. 

 

2 responses to “Top Ten Tuesdays: Desert Island Necessities

  1. You can make my book number 11 🙂 American Rebellion Book 1 of the Revolution which is available at Amazon.com. If you like post apocalyptic fiction I hope you will consider reading it.

What say you?

