Pitch Wars: In for a Penny

It’s done, folks! My three Pitch Wars e-mails have been cut, pasted, formatted, and sent off into the night. No getting them back now! Nothing left to do but continue tweaking my manuscript and chew my nails down to bloody stubs.

Ew. I don’t even bite my nails anymore, unless one breaks. Then ya gotta smooth things out. I’ve decided to keep track of my progress through this contest/opportunity here on Ink. Hopefully I will get more than two entries worth (1. I applied! 2. I was rejected by EVERYONE EVER.)

On that note, here is the query I put together:

“Fallen achiever Autumn Kavanaugh is trying a new lifestyle on for size, but when her fifteen-year-old sister gets caught up with Autumn’s new friends, Autumn will be forced to choose between everything she’s ever known and a world she never imagined could exist.

After flunking out of college in the city, nineteen-year-old Autumn returns to her small hometown and picks up a tedious job at the local big-box hardware store to fill her time. An invitation from her charismatic coworker Silas introduces her to a side of Ashby she’s never experienced: wild outdoor parties where pleasure is the only purpose, attended by a mix of attractive new acquaintances and the children of the town’s most successful adults. When her younger sister is drawn into this new social scene, Autumn begins to realize that Silas might not be what she needs in her life and that their relationship may be more than coincidence.

Grove is a New Adult Light Fantasy novel partially inspired by the story of the Pied Piper of Hamlin. It is author K.L. Eden’s first novel. “

Bluh. Writing that was harder than writing the book.

Why is this picture all boys? And the one above a man? Do we still think boys are the only ones who do any remotely competitive things? Is it not 2012?

Here are the three “Team Captains” I chose to submit my entry to:

Summer – She won me over with GIFs and wacky, sarcastic humor. I feel like she is the kind of reader who would appreciate the voice in my manuscript.

Nazarea – Her interest in retellings and steamy romance-y bits put her in my top 3.

Sharon – It was actually the header design of her blog that made her my third choice (over Erica). Her stated interests are not quite as directly in line with my manuscript as my other two choices, but with a blog design like that I think there may be a lot about The Grove that will appeal to her.

From here until December 12th it’s a waiting game as the coaches read our excerpts (the first five pages) and choose their teams. If one coach isn’t so into my stuff she can throw it back into the mix for another coach to snag, so I’m not quite living and dying by the three I chose based on their blog entries. Right up until I sent the entries I was dying of anxiety and nerves, but now that it’s done? Nothing. They’re sent. No use worrying.

Check back here on the 12th to find out if I am drowning my sorrows in cookies or celebrating my victory with cookies!

7 responses to “Pitch Wars: In for a Penny

What say you?

