You Like Me! You Really Like Me!

I had cruised over here along the interwebs with the intent of posting something entirely different, and found that I have been nominated for a blog award! AGAIN. It looks like fun so I’m going to participate for today, and schedule the post I was planning on writing for tomorrow. I know, schedule it. For real. What is happening to me?!

It’s the cookies. I am motivated by cookies and I have a delicious bag of them from The Cookie Shoppe to nom while I write. Heaven.

Anyway.

liebster-blog-award

          Rules

1. When you receive the award, you post 11 random facts about yourself and answer the 11 questions asked by the person who nominated you.

2. Pass the award onto 11 other blogs (while making sure you notify the blogger that you nominated them!)

3. You write up 11 NEW questions directed towards YOUR nominees.

4. You are not allowed to nominate the blog who nominated your own blog!

5. You paste the award picture into your blog. (You can Google the image, there are plenty of them!)

Eleven Random Things About Moi

1. In my game of Harvest Moon: Magical Melody on Wii, I have five chickens. They are named Chuckles, Wubby, Lou, Pickle, and Butt. I named Butt when I was angry at passing out from watering my crops.

chicken

2.  In my high school’s Women’s Choir I sang Soprano II in three-part arrangements, and Alto I in four-part.

3. I think making a gingerbread house using a kit is cheating.

4. I don’t like diamonds. I prefer emeralds, aquamarine, and moonstones.

5. During college I worked at a costume shop, and we were required to wear costumes to work each day. When pressed for time I would use a bruise make-up kit to give myself a black eye and a few other choice contusions, then get on the bus to go to work. Sometimes I combined the bruises with a bobby-sox costume.

6. I also frequently wore a 1930’s gangster costume to that job, and my friend bestowed the gangster name “Suzy Trashmouth” upon me because I “talk a lot of trash”.

7. In my husband’s wedding vows, he said he loved me because I make him sandwiches and talk a lot of trash when we play video games. I did not know those things were in his vows beforehand.

8. I cannot bear to eat pumpkin pie for two reasons: the texture and the nutmeg. Both make me nauseated…but I like taste of pumpkin.

9. A homeless man once tried to set me up on a date with a fellow passenger on the bus.

10. When I was born, my head was in the 98th percentile for circumference measurement. When I learned to sit up, I would sometimes rest it on the ground when it grew too heavy.

11. I have created an unfinished animated short entitled “Stephen and the Devil”, based on a drawing made by the teenaged son of my ex-Dungeon Master.

Now to answer Kristen’s questions:France 633

    1. What is your favorite holiday gift of all time? My Cookie Monster slippers. I wore those things out, holes all the way through. My husband gave me a very nice set of travel watercolors this year, and I quite like those as well. They were in my stocking, and I know that because we were bad again this year and exchanged gifts early.
    2. Which is your favorite holiday special: Charlie Brown’s Christmas or It’s a Wonderful Life? I have actually never seen It’s a Wonderful Life, and I probably should since I once carved and printed the image at right. Charlie Brown by default, but I actually do watch Charlie Brown every year (and do the Peanuts gang dances with my brother). Watching A Christmas Story is my personal Christmas tradition, and in recent years I’ve added Love, Actually.
    3. What is your beverage of choice: Eggnog, mulled wine, or hot chocolate? Eggnog, non-alcoholic and mixed with milk.
    4. What is your favorite holiday song? “I’ll Be Home for Christmas” …though not necessarily the version below.

5. Who are you going to kiss under the mistletoe this year? My husband, of course!

6. What was your best holiday bonus from a job? A free flu shot (which I never got, actually, because the nurse had to cancel the day of)

7. What is your best holiday memory? Christmas in Mexico when I was six or seven. One of my cousins and my grandma came with us on a driving trip, and we were camped out on Christmas Eve near San Felipe. My sister played Christmas carols on her flute by the fire and my grandma made hot chocolate. In the morning we smashed a pig pinata my sister had made. It was supposed to be a panther but it turned out too round, so she went with it. She had glued the papier maché with my dad’s very first attempt at making gravy, from Thanksgiving. It had been so thick we turned the gravy boat upside down and none dripped out. The pinata was too tough for us kids to break so my dad had to pull it down and kick it open for us.

8. What was the kindest holiday gesture ever made by a stranger? I don’t know that a stranger has ever made a kind holiday gesture.

9. What’s on your wish list this year? Not a lot, there’s not much that I want, really. A stoneware pie plate, Pixar movies like The Incredibles and Toy Story, and a press.

10. If you could spend your holiday anywhere in the world just by snapping your fingers, where would you be? New Zealand, where it’s warm and I could run through sets from Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit.

11. Who would you take with you? My friend Tammi, she could use a very geeky vacation right about now, my husband, and my friend Bryan (we once had a lengthy discussion about living in hobbit holes and scouted locations).

And my questions for my nominees:

1. What is your favorite kind of cookie?

2. Which member of The Breakfast Club do/did you identify with most?The_Breakfast_Club

3. If the world were really going to end on Saturday, what would you do tomorrow?

4. If you were the god (or spirit) of something, what would it be?

5. If you could play any musical instrument with little practice and great skill, what would it be?

6. Do you like fruity candy or chocolate candy better?

7. What makes Ewan McGregor so cute?

8. What is your favorite fairy tale?

9. What is your favorite holiday (or special occasion) food?

10.  What is the most romantic thing that has ever happened to you?

11. Think of a nightmare for an introvert. What did you come up with?

My nominees are:

T.L. Albright at Hyperboles in Motion

Tara at The Librarian Who Doesn’t Say Sssh

Beth at White Elephant in the Room

J. Keller Ford

On the Homefront

A Random Flood of Words 

Books, j’adore

both of the readers at Two Readers Writing

The Infinite Curio

Canonball Read IV

2 responses to “You Like Me! You Really Like Me!

  1. Working at the costume shop was probably my favorite job ever. It was in the top two floors of a store in Old Sacramento that sells novelty items year-round. The top floor had been a bank at one point and we used the original teller’s counter for cash registers and the vault as a dressing room. A fun and wacky place to work.

What say you?

