Mix-Tape Mondays: Mama’s Got a Brand New Meme

I scoured the web for book-blog memes to replace the now too-repetitive Top Ten Tuesdays, but none struck my fancy. So I decided to make up my own in order to do what I like to do and write what I like to write:
cassette-tape-convert

I’m sure that elsewhere on the web there is a meme so-named that does something slightly different, but on my Mix-Tape Mondays I intend to put forth a soundtrack of 5-10 songs (possibly more if I get inspired) for a specific novel. The lucky novel selected for my very first Mix-Tape Monday?

Rats Saw God by Rob Thomas

rats

It almost feels like cheating, because so much music is mentioned in the text of the novel. Almost.

1.  “Come As You Are” – Nirvana

For the early pages of the novel in which the reader comes to know present-burnout but former honor student Steve York, up until he begins writing.

2. “Hell Hole” – Spinal Tap

Steve introducing the reader to his former Texas high school.

3. “We Are One” – The Offspring

Recruiting for GOD through construction of the homecoming float.

4. “With or Without You” – U2

The homecoming dance. ‘Nuff said.

5. “Teen Angst (What the World Needs Now)” – Cracker

I imagine the opening lick playing as Steve drags Dub across the gear shift to make out that first time, and running clear through the hormone festival to the night she picks him up from the airport. An aggressive make-out montage.

6. “Smells Like Teen Spirit” – Nirvana

To accompany GOD’s pep rally presentation, as a sort of soundtrack to the Super 8 films.

7. “Christmas Time is Here – Instrumental” – Vince Guraldi Trio

The Christmas Party at Sky’s house.

8. “November Rain” – Guns and Roses

Steve searching for, and finding, Dub.

9. “No Rain” – Blind Melon

Steve leaves for college.

What do you think? Anything you would add, or a song that doesn’t fit? Have you even read this book? 

If you would like to make your own Mix-Tape Monday, feel free to use my graphic as long as you link back to Ink!

2 responses to “Mix-Tape Mondays: Mama’s Got a Brand New Meme

What say you?

